Library Lunch Break, Part 2

(Image Source)

This post is in response to an earlier post, “Library Lunch Break“, in which a teenage boy with a problem enters the library and feels terrified of the librarian. After writing that piece, I felt the librarian begging for me to tell her side of things. You’ll want to read the boy’s side of the story first before continuing.

Shoot. He saw me watching him. I was trying to be discreet, but these glasses give me away every time. I’ll have to get new rims.

I’ve seen him around before. I think his name is Marcus or something like that. I’m intrigued about the fact that he’s in the library, though. The last time I saw him, he was hanging with the B-team football players after school. They were smoking, but he didn’t seem all that into it. He has that look in his eyes – the look that says there’s something more to him than partying and drugs and sex and skipping class. I’m just not sure if he knows that for himself.

He keeps staring at my food.  He looks hungry.  I’ve seen him in the cafeteria before, and he never has more than a bag of Fritos and a Gatorade for lunch. Should I give my spaghetti to him? Wouldn’t be the first time I’ve given my lunch away to a hungry kid.

Aw, man. He saw me again. Maybe I should act librarian-ish and shelve books or something. I’m told I look angry often, even when I don’t mean to. I want to ask if he needs help because I see that deer-in-headlights look, but I’m not sure if I should approach him. I’ve embarrassed too many teenage boys before by asking them if they needed help; for some reason, they act like talking to me will damage their reputation as the cool kid. I’ll wait a minute and see how things go.

The bell’s going to ring in a few minutes. He still hasn’t found a book, and he still hasn’t eaten. Should I ask him if he needs help? Two minutes. Oh! Here he comes! Come on, Mrs. G. Don’t embarrass the kid.

“Uh, Your Highness? I mean Mrs. G? I need a book ’bout how to make up to my girlfriend after tellin’ her she looks fat in her cheerleading uniform. You got anything like that?”

“Your Highness? Haha! Where’d you get that from? Hmm…Let me check on that book. Your name’s Marcus, right?”

“Wait, what? How’d you know my name?”

“Part of my job is to be observant. Now, I think I have a couple of books that might help you win back your damsel in distress. Have you eaten lunch yet?”

(Post dedicated to M.E., who was my high school English teacher and is now one of the coolest high school librarians I know.)

Make Your Mark

