Faithful

I just finished reading The Autobiography of George Muller (see my review on Goodreads here ). When I was younger, I’d heard the story of how Muller woke up one morning, knowing that his orphans had no breakfast, and told them to set the table and sit down to pray for the meal. Just as they began to pray, someone knocked on the door and left a massive donation of rice for the children.

I’ve seen God work like that. I remember when my family was at language school, preparing for the mission field, and we didn’t have enough money to stay. We prayed and asked for provision, and that week, someone gave my father a check. Other times, as we traveled to share what God was doing on the mission field, people would slip checks into my dad’s hands or shirt pockets – all without being asked. I remember wanting a keyboard for Christmas one year so that I wouldn’t have to lug my teacher’s around, and late one night, someone knocked on the door and said that he was moving to Mexico and couldn’t fit the brand new keyboard in his trailer. God provided.

Just last night, I asked the Lord for something specific. (He likes when we are specific, by the way, just as we like when others are specific with us when we communicate.) Within twelve hours, He provided the means! Within twelve hours.

He is faithful.

Truly, truly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do, he will do also; and greater works than these he will do; because I go to the Father. Whatever you ask in My name, that will I do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask Me anything in My name, I will do it.”  John 14:12-14, NASB

4 thoughts on “Faithful

  1. How uplifting to be reminded that noi matter how big (impossible) a situation appears, or how small and basic and even embarrassing it feels, God cares about them all…and His provision covers every request! He just wants us to ask in faith, and depend on His goodness!!!

Make Your Mark

