Not Your Typical July 4th Dinner

I go on these kicks where I want Middle-Eastern food or Thai food or something else for a week. This time it was Mexican food. Yesterday, a friend bought us Mexican chicken avocado soup, and I loved it so much that I had to try recreating it. I think I like mine better!

I couldn’t get a good picture of mine, so here’s one I found on the Internet. My recipe is different, though.

Here are the directions in case you’d like to try it for yourself. You can change up ingredients to suit your tastes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chicken (or 2 chicken breasts, [shredded after cooking] boiled in salted water and with the broth saved)
  • 2 cups chicken broth (can be from the boiled chicken)
  • 1 jalapeño pepper (an ancho or a chipotle pepper would work, too)
  • 1 can of corn
  • 3 tablespoons of lime juice
  • salt
  • pepper
  • chili powder (or cayenne pepper)
  • cumin
  • 1 avocado
  • hot sauce of your choice
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 3-4 garlic cloves
  • olive oil
  • oregano
  • chives

Okay, I’ll be honest – I rarely measure spices. Add those to taste.

Carefully slice the jalapeño in half; de-seed as much as you like. Broil it, along with the garlic cloves, until the pepper’s skin peels off easily. Chop them together and set them aside. Chop up the onion; brown it in a skillet with the olive oil and a little salt.

Once you have your chicken and broth ready, combine them in a soup pot with salt, pepper, cayenne/chili powder, cumin, the hot sauce, maybe 1 tsp of oregano, a handful of chopped chives, and the can of corn. Add the onions, jalapeño, and garlic to the pot. Slice the avocado, then pan grill it for 3-4 minutes in a pan with olive oil (this changes the taste ever so slightly and adds to the slightly smoky flavor of the soup). Cut it into bite-sized pieces and add it to the soup. Simmer for 20-30 minutes, stirring occasionally for the flavors to blend.

If you try this, let me know how it turned out! What favorite new recipes have you tried this summer? Share below!

6 thoughts on “Not Your Typical July 4th Dinner

  1. this look really really good!!! I’m definitely going to try this!! This one recipe I tried on Father’s day was called “Grandma Barb’s BBQ Chicken” and the BBQ sauce is homemade! Very good and easy to cook! If you would like the recipe let me know and I’ll hook you up!

  2. How scrumptious that looks…mmm!!! So glad you got inspired. : ) I can’t wait to try your version!!!

    1. Oh and I just read about your plane ticket!!! High Five. That is great…cook the new soup for her : )

Make Your Mark

