Newborn Babies and In-Flight Revelations

I had no idea that a trip to the corn capital of America would teach me so much. Last week, I boarded a plane headed for Des Moines to visit a dear friend, her husband, and their new baby. I arrived there with full suitcases and left with a full heart.

Spending time with the newborn baby caused me to reflect on the Father and His love over and over again. I watched this little boy cry over his basic needs and saw his parents meet them every time. I watched him push away the things he needed, only to clamor for them again. And I watched such a beautiful, perfect trust in his parents and in me as we held him and rocked him to sleep. I want to have faith like that. I want to be able to rest my head in the palm of the Father’s hand, let my arms dangle about at my sides, and just rest, knowing that He’s got it. Because I know He does. Watching that baby was like watching a mirror reflection of myself, and spending time away taught me something else, too.

I came to a wild revelation on the way home: I’m done wandering. Those who know anything about me know that I’ve lived in five states and three countries, have moved over thirty times, and have never stayed in one place more than three years. I’ve always had itchy feet, ready to go somewhere else. While I had a wonderful time away visiting friends last week, I actually found myself missing a place. Missing home. Something I’ve never felt like I had before. It was like God suddenly flipped a switch and rested my heart in a place He’d prepared for me. And here I am, home.

This song by Jason Mraz says it perfectly:

Thank You, Lord, for Your perfect timing and Your infinitely beautiful design. You make all things work together for my good. I love You.

5 thoughts on “Newborn Babies and In-Flight Revelations

  1. I smiled as I read your ‘revelations’…about being your Father’s precious child…and knowing you have a place with Him,as well as a knowing that He has ‘placed’ you…home. What a wonderful joy! Grateful we share a home-church family : )

  2. Would you PLEASE stop doing that?! Making me tear up?. Your times of wandering were times of seed planting. And with your deliberate personality, you needed to learn flexibility. Now a new season of growth has come and harvest is very very near for you.

  3. Beautiful… “I actually found myself missing a place. Missing home. Something I’ve never felt like I had before. It was like God suddenly flipped a switch and rested my heart in a place He’d prepared for me. And here I am, home.” I couldn’t have worded this snapshot of my season any more eloquently than you just did. Thanks for this.

Make Your Mark

