Sola Scriptura


God has been teaching me a few neat things in His Word lately, and I thought I’d share them with you.

  • In Mark 5:24-35, a woman with a hemorrhaging issue appears. Most of us have probably heard sermons about her reaching to touch the hem of Christ’s garment and just figured she was grabbing whatever she could, right? It dawned on me last week during a sermon about her that maybe there was something more to it than just that, so I started looking at the other Gospels’ versions of the same story and then did a little research. My suspicions were confirmed: The “hem” or “fringe” of His garment was not the hem as we would normally think it to be. The woman grabbed the prayer knots on the fringe of Christ’s tallit (טַלִּית), the traditional Hebrew prayer shawl/garment. A traditional tallit would have four knots, or tzitziot, one knot at each corner. When a man died, one of those tzitziot would be cut off before he was buried to signify the end of his life. The tallit itself was symbolic of the commandments of God and of the connection between God and man, particularly the reverence God commands from mankind. So when this woman touched the hem of His garment, she was literally reminding Him of His covenant, and He felt the power leave Him. Her faith made her well.
  • Oh, how I love the Psalms. I can’t get enough of them. Lately, two verses in particular have jumped out at me, and I’ve begun to notice a connection. Psalm 97:11 says, “Light is sown like seed for the righteous and gladness for the upright in heart.” Seeds sown eventually grow when cared for properly. When they grow, they produce a product. As believers, we are sowers of Light. It may take a little while, but eventually, Light will grow, bringing gladness to the upright in heart. And Psalm 119:130 says, “The unfolding of Your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple.” So what is that seed that we sow? The Word. What does it produce? Light. What does that Light give? Understanding and gladness. And His Word does not return void.

“How I love Your Word, my God, my King…And sacrifice and paradise were in the plans that You made. Because I’ll never hold a picture of the whole horizon in my view; because I’ll never rip the night in two, it makes me wonder, ‘Who am I? Who am I?’ and ‘Great are You.'”

Make Your Mark

