Forever Family

photo

Tears welled up in my eyes tonight as one of our leaders shared a story in our youth small group. It wasn’t even because of the story in and of itself. What humbled me to tears tonight was the fact that for the past year, I’ve been surrounded by and had the honor of doing life with so many just like him – so many just like me – so many just like everyone else in this world – people who have struggled and fought and conquered and fallen again and reached back up for the hand of God’s grace, only to be lifted higher than we ever thought possible. Every Friday night, we meet – this group of former addicts, former wells of insecurity, former alcoholics, former anorexics, former pride junkies, former oceans of anger, and former victims of so many things, all current victors in Christ. All still tempted, all fighting hangups, all finding freedom because of the love of Christ.

I thought I was joining Celebrate Recovery to teach kids how to walk in freedom in Jesus. But what really happened was that I was the one learning. I was the one finding more and more freedom in this Jesus I’ve loved all my life. I was the one being loosed from insecurity and pride and the things I never knew I needed to deal with. I was the one humbled by the ever so evident grace of God in the lives of my co-leaders and students and brothers and sisters. I am the one grateful to be a part of this “Forever Family”.

Hi. My name is Miranda, and I’m a grateful believer in Jesus Christ.

One thought on “Forever Family

Make Your Mark

